Out of all of the traffic fatalities involving teenage drivers, more than half occur when another teenager is in the car. Lawmakers have taken notice of the danger posed by teenage drivers, which is why many states have enacted laws that limit the number of passengers under the age of 20 a teenage driver can carry. Here is a closer look at some of these laws regarding teen drivers in Illinois and a few surrounding states.
In Illinois, teen drivers are limited to the number of passengers that they can transport. During the first year of holding a driver’s license or until the driver is 18 years old, whichever occurs first, a teenage driver can only carry one passenger under the age of 20. Drivers may carry additional passengers if the passenger is a sibling, child, step-sibling, or step-child of the driver.
In Ohio, any teenage driver under 17 years old cannot carry more than one passenger, no matter the age, unless this other person is an immediate family member. The only exception to this rule is if the driver’s parent or legal guardian is also present in the vehicle.
In the state of Michigan, there are no restrictions on the number of passengers that can be in the car with a teenage driver. But parents are encouraged to set limits on the number of passengers their teenage driver transports, as each teenage passenger in the car increases the risk of a car crash.
To ensure that your teenage driver understands the importance of making safe driving decisions, enroll him or her in a driving school with a strong record for quality and results. Top Driver, the largest driving school in the nation, offers the driving lessons and training that your teenage driver needs. Call us at (888) 471-5418 or visit our website for more information about our teen driver training throughout Chicago.